Let me give you some information. I was convicted in 2001 of CSC 2 in Michigan. I am now 34 years old of a crime that happened when I was 17. For me every time I go to register in person they would ask me why don’t you just petition to get off of the registry. Apparently North Carolina you can petition the sentencing court to allow you to be removed from the state registry after 10 years.
In 2013, I believe, when they change the laws in group me into a tier 3 registration instead of looking at my case specifically that was no longer on the table. Now this gives me hope that I can potentially get off of the registry, at least here in North Carolina.