Reply To: The sex offender registry: a non-punitive civil regulatory scheme

Maestro

Timothy Level 3,

I want to address some things you mentioned.
First, you are NOT a sex offender. Very, very few of us with such a conviction are. And unless you are still working as a correctional officer, you’re not that either. Allow me to explain…

To say someone is a sex offender or a car jacker is to make the presumption that the person continues to do it. I sexually offended 1 time, 13 years ago.. How am I a sex offender?
I’ll tell you what I am, I’m a smoker. Every 15 to 20 mins I grab my pack of cigarettes and light one up. But I don’t go chasing after teenage girls. So I am not a sex offender. I am someone who ONCE committed a sexual offense.
I used to work in a warehouse that sold metal materials to construction companies as wall as Boeing. I worked in the shipping department. I haven’t done that job in over 10 yrs. I have been working in restaurants for the last 5 yrs. so I am NOT a warehouse worker anymore. I AM a server and catering delivery person.

One of the things we and our advocates need to do is stop referring to us all as “sex offenders” in the current/present tense and reword it to something like “former offenders” or something.
Many of us have only 1 time offenses. That includes multiple romantic endeavors with the same underage teen. It was 1 person therefore it was 1 offense. Anyone with multiple offenses MIGHT be seen as a “sex offender” especially if they admit to themselves that they have such desires constantly.

Second, the tier system is horse sh*t. As you laid it out in your comment, they do it in a way that makes them seem like mind readers. And they look at paperwork which paints a convicted person in a bad light anyway. We all know this.