Reply To: Sex offenders — decision needed

ProActive

According to Sandy’s article, there should be some clarifications here…

I am a former attorney on the registry in Florida, in the South Florida area. I still work with my law firm and two other law firms as a Paralegal. I am also a local Pastor of a Church that serves primarily addictions and sex offenses. I have visited many “encampments of marginalized persons on the registry. There view and position is very simple: (a) They do not want to get involved and have their names all over the news; (b) they either do not have any money, not even $1, to help retain an attorney to bring any lawsuits because they are waiting for others to pay for the attorney and bring a law suit; (c) they are just riding through and complain but never become proactive; (4) most of all, all they do is lament they cannot get jobs, cannot find a place to live, and cannot get out of their own way, and want hand-outs. The ones that are on the fringes are those who do want to get involved, help pay for an attorney, get proactive, and spend all day at either day labor agencies or putting in applications all over the place, and are working or finding ways to change things – you are talking about 8% to 15% of those who Sandy labels “marginalized”.

I am homeless, I live in my car, and I fight for people’s rights. Okay… I am Italian from New York, so my way of thinking is a bit out of the ordinary. But, I make it work for me. I was born with this personality, and as an educated man and with the personality I have, I am a true fighter. So, that leaves a question… What do we do with the others in my same position?