Reply To: “Sex offense is the one crime that you can never pay for”

Gerald T. Hollingsworth

When I hear of other registrant’s challenges my heart tears just a little more. Some of us did some terrible and terribly stupid things in the past. We do not shirk from our responsibility and are willing to make amends and attempt to restore whatever confidence was broken. Yes, there are some actions with irreversible consequences and it is those types of cases where a registry makes sense but only to a limited audience — Law Enforcement. The public registry cost me one job and then another. Fortunately, I am a veteran and have been classified as permanently disabled by the VA so I am able to make ends meet, barely. A few months ago I was diagnosed with a cancer that will take my life within the next 6-10 months. I’ve already outlived expectations but that is because He who is in me is greater than the disease that is trying to kill me. My point in mentioning this is that it is that same power that was allowing me to press forward in seeking employment or some other way to pay my way. Dedicating myself to serving God has been the key for me and I wouldn’t be able to stand were it not for His grace.