Reply To: Illinois columnist butchers Gospel, panders to baseless fear

Capt Charles Munsey Jr. USN (Ret)

This is the e-mail that I sent to Ron. Unless one studies the Bible so much can be taken out of context to support a non-Biblical point of view.

Ron, I read with much interest your article on the mentioned subject. Let me first of all introduce myself. I am a ‘child’…a child of God that is. That is the same ‘child’ that is mentioned in the Bible. We are all creations of God but as we accept Jesus as our Lord and Savior we are welcomed into the family and become ‘children of God’. I am also a 29 year Navy veteran; a loving son and father; a committed member of my community and church; active in aircraft restoration; a student of the relationship of the Bible and politics; a facilitator of a small group that meets weekly in my home to study a variety of Biblically related subjects; a writer of aviation history; a platelet donor to treat cancer patients…80 gallons thus far; and , oh yes, a sex offender. I do not try to keep it a secret as I do not like ‘living in the shadows’. My situation took place 18+ years ago and involved my daughter after the tragic, unexpected death of my wife and her mother. It had a negative impact on both of us and things happened that should not have happened. We have since come to grips with the unsavory past and have now reconciled and are good friends. She has moved to Florida to be close by with her daughter…my granddaughter. It would appear that you believe “the offender gets his life back” and that “the victim never does.” For one who likes to quote the Bible, you surely seem to have missed a lot. ‘Forgiveness’ is the great healer and until the offender can forgive himself and the victim can forgive the offender, life is never returned to normality. Remaining a victim is a choice, not a necessity. Some feel comfortable settling into the ‘state of victim-hood’ while others come to know the freedom that comes from forgiveness. And